Read Later with Drafts

If you’re “living in a mixed platform environment” like I do, using a mobile device from Apple but not an Apple desktop or laptop (or the other way around), you may have run into the scenario where you find an interesting article on Twitter or wherever else that you don’t want to read right now on the tiny phone screen but later, on a larger screen. Or you want to keep some link for later. Now how do you get that link from your phone to your computer?

My solution is email. I don’t send myself an email though – I simply create drafts. On iOS I tap share, then email, then cancel. A little requester pops up then, asking me whether I want to keep the draft or discard it. I tap keep, and that’s it. I don’t even need to select an email recipient. Just 4 taps on the screen. On the desktop, all I have to do is open my email drafts later, and there’s the stuff I wanted to read.

This doesn’t require the Reading List (confined to the Apple world), Pocket, Bookmarking, or any other service. The drafts are easily deleted, or forwarded to another person. It may be mundane but I like the simplicity of my method. 🙂

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

