My dear friends on Facebook

My dear friends, I log on to Facebook to connect with you on a personal level, and not to get exposed to yet more political crap that I already get plenty of when I watch the news. Please, do your friends a favor, make your and my social feed better – and just cut it.

Even if your post is marked “Public”, the ones who’ll see it first are your friends on Facebook – please think about that. Isn’t it just very, very likely that they share your political convictions anyway? Why bother them with more of the same? It’s just white noise, and it doesn’t change anything.

From today on, I’ll be unfollowing friends who post or share too much political stuff. No one cares about yet more commentary about how bad Trump is or will be, Hillary is or will be, their pick for vice president is or will be, how awesome Bernie would have been, and so on, and so on.

You’re in an echo chamber, and you’re only going to hear more of the same. Or do you really think that you’re going to change anyone’s opinion and political conviction with your commentary, on a social network? 😀

4 Comments

  1. I’m curious here, is there some reason my comment is in moderation and you refuse to post it ? I was whole heartedly agree with you on the political crap on the Fcaebook boards and as an example my agreement with your take on the Justin Wines politicking where eco-activists have vented their muderous hatred towards that company. With no one offering any solution but ideological hatred. At least give me an explanation.

    Like

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

