Macallan Gold

Ever since I had a dram of the 18 year old Macallan at a friend’s, I’ve been trying different Macallan varieties that are more, err, affordable, hoping to find something that would be somewhat close, but not tear such an incredible hole into the wallet (the 18 year old costs around $150 per bottle).

But, I guess I can honestly say now that I’m simply not a fan of Macallan’s “young” Highland single malt whiskys. I’ve tried the “regular” Macallan (I think it’s 10 years old – I wanted to look it up but their website has such an incredibly goofy navigation system, I guess I’d need more Whisky to understand it), the “Director’s Cut”, the “Gold” (see photo) – and it’s just not a taste that I find interesting. To me, they all taste more or less sweet.

One day, when I’m rich and famous, I’ll buy the 18 year old variety. Everything else is a waste of money on my taste buds. 😛

Macallan Gold
Macallan Gold

PS: when I read reviews like these, I can’t help but laugh. Quince paste on toasted wheat bread? Furniture varnish? Seeeeeeeriously? 😀

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

