Shadow Dances

There’s something about this photo that I like. I don’t know what it is, and I’m pretty sure that not many of you will agree with me, but I’m showing it anyway.

But why would I do such a foolish thing, in this world where popularity seems to be everything? Show a photo when I know it won’t be popular?! Well, duh – because I’m not making photos for popularity. I’m making them for myself…

And I dare say that this is exactly the same for the majority of photographers out there. We don’t grab the camera with the intention to create a popular photo. We make photos because that’s what we do. Because we are creative people, and we have chosen photography to be our creative outlet.

And maybe you’re one of the few who see the shadow dances, and like it too. That’s the best that could happen. But it doesn’t have to. Because the photo is from 2008, and I still like it. So chances are, I’ll still like it even when no one else in the world likes it. And that’s all there is to say about this photo. 🙂

3 Comments

  1. I do like the dance. I don’t like the GPlus stream rendition on Android and 4.3″ screen. It lost the dance. It has done it before, cropping the essential. Well, what is essential in a photo? The photo as a whole!

    If you like your own photo, it is worth sharing. I’m talking about you personally, but the same goes for every photographer. Amd what if we try to be popular with selected photos? That doesn’t rule out being free with all the other “populism free” photos. Just do it.

    Anyway, I took the trouble to reset my WordPress password on my phone to get here to like, so I couldn’t leave without comment 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

