Edelweisslahner

There’s a gazillion (more or less silly) photo themes on Google+. Mountain Monday, curated by my friend Michael Russell, is one of the oldest ones and I contribute to it every now and then, despite the fact that I don’t have access to “real” mountains here. I’m saying “real” mountains because those have been, are and always will be the alps for me. Even though the highest peaks of Southern California (like Mount San Antonio aka Mount Baldy, and Mount San Jacinto) are only about a 2 1/2 hours drive away, hiking there is just not the same as hiking in the alps*.


This older photo from summer 2009 (made 5 years and 3 days ago – it’s crazy how time flies!) may not look like much at first, but I like it for its more subtle qualities. Some of it has to do with depth, and more probably with good memories – and longing. There’s a cross at the peak in the top right corner, if you look closely you can see it. The trail from Edelweisslahnerkopf (where I was standing when I made the photo) continues up there for an incredibly beautiful hike with fantastic views. I didn’t continue back then because I wasn’t hiking alone and had to take care of my company. One day I hope to complete the entire loop hike.


*) and in case anyone wonders – yes, the Sierra Nevada is incredibly beautiful but it has different mountains. They’re not the mountains of my heart. Maybe not yet, I’ve been there only once… so far. šŸ™‚

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

