Down to two…

In my ongoing efforts to live a life with less Google, today felt like a good day to get rid of Google Chrome. I’ve only been using it for browsing social sites (Google+ and Facebook, to be precise) for a while now anyway because my primary browser is Firefox – so why not get rid of it entirely?

For the moment, I’ve replaced Chrome with Opera Next – because I like to have a separate browser for using Google+ and Facebook. And just like expected, it works without any problems. šŸ™‚ It’s based on the Chromium/Webkit open source code/rendering engine (it even accepts .crx extensions, just not installed through the Google Play store, obviously – there’s a plugin to fix that though) and boy it’s fast!

I’m not sure if I’m going to keep Opera Next because I’ve yet to figure out how to make Duck Duck Go my default search engine (seems like they only allow their built-in/preconfigured search engines to choose from – quite odd), and how to get rid of the Google Search on the Speed Dial page. Maybe I’ll use Internet Explorer instead then – Microsoft hopefully has none of their settings default to Google! šŸ˜‰

Two pieces of Google software remain on my computer: the Google Talk plugin (which I need to make international phone calls with Google Voice from the computer, until I figured out what to use instead of Google Voice), and the Nik Collection set of plugins for Lightroom and Photoshop – I don’t really use them a lot anymore anyway (and as far as I can see, they still haven’t fixed this bug that I’ve reported months ago), but once in a while they still may come in handy.

EDIT: darnit, it’s three. I overlooked Google Earth… šŸ™‚

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

