Aurastore – Untapped Horizons

While trying to catch up with a seemingly endless backlog of unread items in the the “Music” folder in my G2Reader account, I discovered the Energostatic netlabel (adding yet more music that wants to be discovered).

I began to explore at the bottom of their release list, with the compilation that launched the netlabel, and got hooked by the opening track from Aurastore, titled Converge, immediately.

I needed to find more from that very artist, and found it right there on the netlabel’s release list, with Aurastore’s “Untapped Horizons” album:


(this embed is just for convenience, the full album is on the Energostatic site, linked above)

Maybe I’m just in the mood for it right now, but as I listen to it, I can’t help but think that this must be one of the most beautiful ambient releases I’ve heard in quite a while.

It’s slow, melodic, spacious, melancholic, floating, drifting, droning, hovering goodness*. Free, under CC license. Hauntingly beautiful, slow music, for a fast-paced world. I’m glad that things like these exist. Listening to this soothes my soul.

Needless to say, once my appetite was whet, I needed more. And I found it with Aurastore’s older album “Deciphering The Stars” (which contains the aforementioned track “Converge”) on the same netlabel, as well as another release, “Leaving The System“, on Bandcamp. Yay!


*) yes, I robbed an adjective store for this sentence.

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

