Fare thee well, Milk Soup!

I’m getting increasingly bored by “that” particular look of long exposure seascape photography. This photo combines all the typical ingredients: milky water, darkened sky, high contrast foreground, square crop. The photographic world (or rather, my window into it) seems to be oversaturated by this type of images.

And I think it’s time to move on. If not for the photographic world, then at least for me. That’s one thing I can change. I’ve begun making shorter “long” exposures, and I like the results more.

Fare thee well, Milk Soup!

PS: and yes, with the broken 10-pin connector of my D800, I’m limited to 30 second exposures now, anyway. 😉


Fine more long exposure art on Fine Art America.

8 Comments

    1. Thanks Shane. I’m beginning to think this type of long exposure photography may have become some popular because it’s EASY. The long exposure takes a lot of the random chaos that water movement and it’s shapes are away, usually leaving a couple of very simple elements to work with…

      Like

  1. This one is pretty darn good… I’m not any more tired of this look than any rocks + water + sky clichés. 🙂

    Like

  2. Well, this one is more interesting than many of the genre. It’s long been a popular formula, but it has of late become even more pervasive. I’m surprised that many photography contests still seem to reward these types of photographs. I suspect they are still popular with many people.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Let me hear them.

